Past Grant Recipients


Brian Cirmo of Albany, NY; Frederick Hayes of NY, NY; Catherine McCarthy of Boston, MA; Terri Rolland of Sante Fe, NM; and Elizabeth Thach of Brighton, MA. The jurors were Tim Doud, Patricia Hickson, and John Zinsser.


Lupita Carrasco of Colorado Springs, CO; Qingling Guo of Livingston, NJ; and Christopher McLean of Santa Fe, New Mexico.


Cat Balco of Hamden, CT; Michelle Muldrow of Portland, OR; and Elizabeth Tremante of Los Angeles, CA. The jurors were painter Sam Messer; Kate Crawford, The William Cary Hulsey Curator of American Art at the Birmingham Museum of Art; and Portland, OR based artist Genevieve Busby.


Julie Buffalohead of St. Paul, MN; Tom Burckhardt of New York, NY; Wilfredo Mercado of San Juan, PR; Brigid Watson of South Boston, MA; and Randy Wray of Brooklyn, NY.

The jurors were Mary Schneider Enriquez, PhD, Harvard Art Museum’s Houghton Associate Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art; artist David Humphrey, an American painter, art critic, and sculptor associated with the postmodern turn in painting that began in the late 1970s; and Dr. Sarita Heer, Instructor of Art History in the Fine and Performing Arts Department at Loyola University of Chicago.


The 2018 Lillian Orlowsky and William Freed Grant recipients were: David Barnes of Middletown, RI; Ronald Hall of Brooklyn, NY; Shelley McCarl of Polson, MT; Lee Price of Beacon NY; Mie Yim of New York, NY. 

The jurors were artist Dennis Kardon, who is well known for his piece, 49 Jewish Noses, 1992-1995, which was exhibited at the Jewish Museum in New York, The Hammer Museum in Los Angeles, as internationally; Sarah Kianovsky, Curator of the Collection in the Division of Modern and Contemporary Art at the Harvard Art Museums; and artist Keith Mayerson, who has work included in the permanent collections of the Museum of Modern Art, New York, NY; Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, CA; Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Los Angeles, CA; San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, San Francisco, CA; Corcoran Gallery, Washington D.C., and the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, NY.


The 2017 Lillian Orlowsky and William Freed Grant recipients were: Mark Beyer of Albuquerque, NM; Deborah Salt of Topanga, CA; and Shinji Turner-Yamamoto of Cincinnati, OH. 

The jurors were Erin Elder, an independent curator of contemporary art guided by interests in land use, experimental collaboration, and non-traditional modes of expression; Alex Jovanovich, an artist and writer, who has had work featured in the Whitney Biennial, and Jennifer Samet, Ph.D., a New York-based art historian, curator, and writer. 


The 2016 recipients of the Lillian Orlowsky and William Freed Grant were: Frank Gregory of Greenfield, MA; Masako Kamiya of Dorchester, MA; Marjorie Kaye of Cambridge, MA; Gail Spaien of South Portland, ME; and Clay Wagstaff of Tropic, UT. 

The jurors were Jeff Andersen, Director of the Florence Griswold Museum; Jason Andrew, Curator and Archivist for the Estate of Jack Tworkov and Founding Director of Norte Maar for Collaborative Projects in the Arts; and Honour Mack, Professor of Painting and Drawing at Maine College of Art in Portland, Maine. 


The 2015 Lillian Orlowsky and William Freed Grant recipients were: Dorothy Annette Robinson of Peekskill, NY; James Gouldthorpe of Richmond, CA; Lauren Mantecon of Sante Fe, NM; and Dana Saulnier of Oxford, OH. 

The jurors were Nancy Princenthal, former senior editor of Art in America, writer for Artforum, Art News, and the New York Times and professor at Princeton University, Yale, RISD, and NYU; Christian Rieben, an artist whose work “explores the contradictions inherent in the representation of three-dimensional imagery on a two-dimensional surface;” currently a professor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, as well as at Loyola University; and Anna Stothart, the Brown Foundation Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art at the San Antonio Museum of Art in Texas.


The 2014 Lillian Orlowsky and William Freed Grant recipients were: Stephanie London of Glendale, CA; Changha Hwang of New York, NY; Santiago Hernandez of Medford, MA; Susan Jamison of Roanoke, VA; and Daniel Bodner of Provincetown, MA. 

The jurors were: Faye Hirsch, Editor at Large at Art in America; Shellburne Thurber, an internationally known artist and awardee of the Saint Gaudens National Historic Site fellowship; and Marshall Price, curator of Modern and Contemporary Art at a highly regarded university art museum. 


The 2013 Lillian Orlowsky and William Freed Grant recipients were: Steve DeFrank of Brooklyn, NY and Donald Beal of Provincetown, MA. 

The jurors were James Hull, an artist, an educator, a critic, and an independent curator and Gilbert Vicario, Senior Curator and division head for curatorial affairs at the Des Moines Art Center, Iowa. 


The 2012 Lillian Orlowsky and William Freed Grant recipients were: Irene Lipton of North Truro, MA; Catherine Kehoe of Roslindale, MA; Maria Napolitano of Providence, RI; and Reiner Hansen of Brooklyn, NY. 

The jurors were Melissa Meyer, a painter whose work is represented in the permanent collection at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Museum of Modern Art, and the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, amongst others; Katy Kline, Interim Director of the Williams College Museum of Art; and Richard Baker, a former Provincetown resident and painter who received a Pollock Krasner Award and is represented in the permanent collection at the Museum of Fine Arts Boston.


The 2011 Lillian Orlowsky and William Freed Grant recipients were: Joan Ryan of East Boston, MA; Karen Cappotto of Provincetown, MA; and Deborah Martin of Twentynine Palms, CA. 

The jurors were Patricia Hickson, Emily Hall Tremaine Curator of Contemporary Art, Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art; Milena Kalinovska, Director of Public Programs, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden; and William Stover, Independent Curator and former Assistant Curator of Contemporary Art, Museum of Fine Arts Boston.


The 2010 Lillian Orlowsky and William Freed Grant recipients were: D. Morgan Russell of Hingham, MA and Jo Hay of Provincetown, MA.

The jurors were Brooke Anderson, Deputy Director of Curatorial Planning at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art; Evan Garza, Editor-at-Large for New American Paintings; and Director of the New Britain Museum of American Art, Douglas Hyland.

About the Grant

Recipients are awarded a group exhibition at PAAM as well as a cash grant. The recipients, who are American painters over the age of 45, are chosen annually from more than 500 applicants, recognized for their talent, as well their ability to greatly benefit from this grant.

To date, applicants have hailed from 40 states as well as four foreign countries and ranged in age from 45 to 89.

Each year, a new committee is formed to help select the next grant recipients.   Jurors are invited to participate based on their expertise in the art field, and area mix of nationally renowned artists, art historians and curators.